TechnicalArchitectureWorx

The (Unofficial) ITWorx Technical Architecture Blog

Blackberry blood on the Tarmac

Posted by archworx on September 22, 2008

Last week I was taking my son to the doctor, and as I was lifting his car seat in place, I rested my phone in the crevice between the hood and the windshield. We then got in the car and the started driving away.

I completely forgot about the blackberry.

A few minutes later I notice the phone in its holster was slowly edging up the windshield – in what seemed like an eternity – and within a couple of seconds the berry had flown off the car. The trouble is I was on the ring road!

I parked my car and I spent the next TEN minutes pacing back and forth the highway’s four different lanes trying to find parts of it. I knew it would certainly not work, but I just wanted to see if I could recover the data card with some baby pictures of my son and my sim card.

I found the phone itself, then the holster, then I spotted the back cover doing umpteen somersaults in lane 3, its black cover faintly visible in the night, its reflections caught my attention as it was flying in mid air.

Try as I might, I couldn’t find the battery. My wife spotted it near where we were parked and then we re-assembled it.

Ten minutes later (it takes ages to boot) – we were thoroughly shocked when the thing actually worked! Parts of the phone had been hit by cars, trampled on, and blown away by the speed of the cars passing by.

It had a few scratches here and there, the back cover wouldn’t fit snugly any more and the holster’s magnet broke, so now it speed dials a random number sometimes as I place the phone inside it.

Now that’s resilient engineering.

Well done RIM.

5 Responses to “Blackberry blood on the Tarmac”

  1. You should put a photo of the phone after the assembly … I believe because I know you and I don’t think this is an Adv.🙂

  2. Mkaram said

    Mkaram: You are right – I will take a photo and upload it here. It looks virtually untouched though, except a couple of scratches here and there.

  3. Tadwina said

    مرحباً
    لقد قام أحد المعجبين بمدونتك بإضافتها إلى تدوينة دوت كوم، بيت المدونات العربية.

    قام فريق المحررين بمراجعة مدونتك و تصنيفها و تحرير بياناتها، حتى يتمكن زوار الموقع و محركات البحث من إيجادها و متابعتها.
    يمكنك متابعة مدونتك على الرابط التالى:
    http://www.tadwina.com/feed/866

    يمكنك متابعة باقى مدونات تدوينة دوت كوم على الرابط التالى:
    http://www.tadwina.com

    لعمل أى تغييرات فى بيانات مدونتك أو لإقتراح مدونات أخرى لا تتردد فى الإتصال بنا من خلال الموقع.

    و لكم جزيل الشكر،

    فريق عمل تدوينة دوت كوم.
    http://www.tadwina.com

  4. オテモニャン said

    rmnuv9n

    すっごいよ!
    オナニー
    オナニー
    逆援助
    SEX
    フェラチオ
    ソープ
    逆援助
    出張ホスト
    手コキ
    おっぱい
    フェラチオ
    中出し
    セックス
    デリヘル
    包茎
    逆援
    性欲

  5. you should not say “Kids are just asking for trouble”nthey are victims and should be treated that way, don’t blame them Click http://www.l33turl.com/dukcc091745

Leave a Reply

 
