TechnicalArchitectureWorx

The (Unofficial) ITWorx Technical Architecture Blog

Resolution for (Exception from HRESULT: 0x800736B1)

Posted by archworx on October 17, 2007

I got this error when I tried to use a C++ DLL, compiled by Visual Studio 2005 SP1, in a web application (ASP.Net 2.0):

“This application has failed to start because the application configuration is incorrect. Reinstalling the application may fix this problem. (Exception from HRESULT: 0x800736B1)”

This happens due to a lot of reasons, you can check them at: http://blogs.msdn.com/eldar/archive/2006/06/07/621501.aspx

The reasons in my case were:

1- The target C++ DLL depends on 3 DLLs: msvcm80.dll, msvcp80.dll, and msvcr80.dll version 8.0.50727.762. This is because the SP1 is installed on the development machine, while the production machine has these files but version 8.0.50727.42, thus, I installed Microsoft Visual C++ 2005 SP1 Redistributable Package (x86) on the production machine. You can get it from: http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/details.aspx?familyid=200B2FD9-AE1A-4A14-984D-389C36F85647&displaylang=en

2- My bad! I forgot to change the DLL’s active configuration to release, so you always have to check that before you deploy your application.

29 Responses to “Resolution for (Exception from HRESULT: 0x800736B1)”

  1. Jaimie said

    Thank you for this post! I have spent hours looking into lots of different complex reasons for the error. When all it boiled down to was the config not set to release…..

  2. Fernando said

    thank you so much…. I read tons of articles.. only yours really solved my problem….I appreciate that!!!

    Regards…

  3. lookchinz said

    My problem happen on C#.net 2005
    I don’t sure about Service Pack?? 1.0 or 2.0
    Can I load http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/details.aspx?familyid=200B2FD9-AE1A-4A14-984D-389C36F85647&displaylang=en??

    Can I have a package for C#.net 2005?

    Thx for help.

  4. KID said

    Thanks! Saved me a headache!

  5. Seetha said

    I have been hitting with this problem for quite some time. Tried installing VC++ runtime didn’t helped me at all. And your advice to make all the dll’s to ‘Release’ mode simply solved my problem. Thanks a lot.

  6. Wasif Ehsan said

    You saved me really big headache. Just changing it to Release mode solved my issue. Thanks a lot.

  7. Andy said

    Hi, thx for the hint. I uninstalled this package (as so many useless updates on a new Laptop !) but i never though that this would solve the prob…😉

  8. Swapnil_sid said

    Thanks a lot …

    Your article solved our problem.

  9. everything about java…

    […]Resolution for (Exception from HRESULT: 0x800736B1) « TechnicalArchitectureWorx[…]…

  10. aatish said

    my fifa 14 game is not starting….its says application confriguation is incorect … try reinstalling n i have tryd reinstalling again den to not working
    ….. can sumbody help ?

  11. Clayton said

    I’ll immediately grasp your rss feed as I can’t find yyour email subscrijption link or newsletter service.
    Do you hav any? Please let me understand in orderr that I may subscribe.
    Thanks.

  12. get the awesome flappy bird game Flappy Bird Apk
    Freeee download of flappy bird game Flappy Bird Apk
    i found this source of the famous flappy bird game free Flappy Bird Apk
    Omg flappy bird game isfree on this link Flappy Bird Apk

  13. I am sure this paragraph has touched all
    the internet users, its really really nice piece of writing
    on building up new webpage.

  14. It is perfect time to make some plans for the future and it is time to be happy.
    I’ve read this post and if I could I wish to suggest you
    some interesting things or advice. Perhaps you can write next
    articles referring to this article. I want to read more things
    about it!

  15. Wonderful blog! I found it while surfing around on Yahoo
    News. Do you have any suggestions on how to get listed in Yahoo News?
    I’ve been trying for a while but I never seem to get there!

    Many thanks

  16. Theron said

    What i don’t realize is in fact how you are not really a lot more well-favored than you might
    be now. You are so intelligent. You know thus significantly with regards to this topic, made me individually believe it from so
    many numerous angles. Its like women and men are not interested until it’s something
    to do with Lady gaga! Your individual stuffs excellent.
    At all times care for it up!

  17. This piece of writing provides clear idea in support of the new people
    of blogging, that in fact how to do running a blog.

  18. ehmsas.exe said

    I blog quite often and I really appreciate your information. This great article has
    really peaked my interest. I will bookmark your site and keep checking
    for new details about once per week. I subscribed to
    your Feed as well.

  19. Having read this I believed it was rather enlightening.
    I appreciate you spending some time and effort to put this
    content together. I once again find myself
    spending way too much time both reading and leaving comments.
    But so what, it was still worth it!

  20. Tv_W32.Exe said

    I have learn several good stuff here. Certainly worth bookmarking for
    revisiting. I wonder how much attempt you place to make any such excellent informative site.

  21. If some one needs expert view on the topic of running a blog after that i advise him/her
    to visit this webpage, Keep up the nice work.

  22. […] Resolution for (Exception from HRESULT: 0x800736B1 … – I got this error when I tried to use a C++ DLL, compiled by Visual Studio 2005 SP1, in a web application (ASP.Net 2.0): “This application has failed to start because the application configuration is incorrect. Reinstalling the application may fix this problem. (Exception from HRESULT … […]

  23. […] Resolution for (Exception from HRESULT: 0x800736B1 … – Oct 17, 2007 · January 28, 2009 at 11:27 pm. I have been hitting with this problem for quite some time. Tried installing VC++ runtime didn’t helped me at all…. […]

  24. […] Resolution for (Exception from HRESULT: 0x800736B1 … – Oct 17, 2007 · I got this error when I tried to use a C++ DLL, compiled by Visual Studio 2005 SP1, in a web application (ASP.Net 2.0): “This application has failed to …… […]

  25. […] Resolution for (Exception from HRESULT: 0x800736B1 … – Oct 17, 2007 · I got this error when I tried to use a C++ DLL, compiled by Visual Studio 2005 SP1, in a web application (ASP.Net 2.0): “This application has failed to …… […]

  26. […] Resolution for (Exception from HRESULT: 0x800736B1 … – Oct 17, 2007 · I got this error when I tried to use a C++ DLL, compiled by Visual Studio 2005 SP1, in a web application (ASP.Net 2.0): “This application has failed to …… […]

  27. […] Resolution for (Exception from HRESULT: 0x800736B1 … – Oct 17, 2007 · I got this error when I tried to use a C++ DLL, compiled by Visual Studio 2005 SP1, in a web application (ASP.Net 2.0): “This application has failed to …… […]

  28. […] Resolution for (Exception from HRESULT: 0x800736B1 … – Oct 17, 2007 · I got this error when I tried to use a C++ DLL, compiled by Visual Studio 2005 SP1, in a web application (ASP.Net 2.0): “This application has failed to …… […]

  29. […] Resolution for (Exception from HRESULT: 0x800736B1 … – Oct 17, 2007 · I got this error when I tried to use a C++ DLL, compiled by Visual Studio 2005 SP1, in a web application (ASP.Net 2.0): “This application has failed to …… […]

Leave a Reply

 
